Steeping Tea Bags

Standing over a pan of boiling water with tea bags steeping caused me to reflect on the process for a moment this morning. You see, I love iced tea.  And, tea making is important, friends.  Of late, my iced tea has been on the weak side, which led to my wandering thoughts.  Sometimes I lack the patience to wait for the water to come to a full boil before removing the pan from the burner so I can move onto the next task.  It is, however, this bit of patience that is required in order to allow the flavor to be released by the extremely hot temperature.

It was inspirational really…

The Lord dropped this thought into my mind – Without boiling water, the tea is flavorless and has no character.  It is severely lacking.  In other words, our lives are like the tea bags and the boiling water represents the storms of life.  Without the storms, our lives lack character and growth.  They never quite reach their full potential and are stymied as to reaching their rich flavor.

None of us like the boiling water or the storms of life, but it is during this process that maturing takes place.

Tea anyone?

This entry was posted in Christian living and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment