Decluttering: Your Own Way

It seems the trend is to be a minimalist or limit the number of items one has on the kitchen countertops, clothing, etc.

Being counter-culture has always been in my blood, so I naturally resist this notion.  Not to mention, I don’t agree with being a minimalist.  I do agree with limiting chaos and nonsense, however.

For example, I currently have fifteen books on my nightstand.  They are in two, tidy stacks on either end of the nightstand with a lamp in between.  They do not bother me.  Instead, I love being surrounded by books.  They bring me joy.

To some, fifteen books on a nightstand would seem excessive.  But, I am not them.  I am me.  This works for me at the present time.  I will say, that I have this many books beside the bed during my recovery from surgery and I intend to read them.  Normally, I might only have about half as many.  Reading is fun for me, whereas for some, they totally don’t get my obsession.  That’s okay.

Some collect figurines, bottles or sports memorabilia, and to others, this may seem excessive.  There are no decluttering judges or decluttering police.  Keep the volume of items that make your world peaceful and happy.  Don’t worry about what anyone else’s home looks like.  You are a unique individual and when you cease being you, the world has lost a valuable resource.  So, relax and be yourself.

I happen to have a few collections, one of which is books.  Yes, I have a small library housed on the bookshelves in our family room.  Prior to our last major move, I had even more but purged our library to prepare for the move.  Now, I’m in the process of rebuilding our library a little at a time.  I’d like to have a diverse collection of books so that when guests come to visit, anyone could find a book of interest.

Our homes should reflect who we we are.  Be true to yourself and your style.  Don’t conform to someone else’s standards just because it’s en vogue.

Some like to declutter using baskets, some use Rubbermaid bins, some like to tie those nifty chalkboard tags on everything in sight.  Whatever works for you.  Choosing a system that you like and that you find useful is likely to be one you stick with.

There is no right or wrong way of decluttering.  It’s only wrong if you don’t engage at all.  Haha.  Seriously, if there’s movement in the right direction, you have been successful in your quest to declutter.

Some have large homes, some have small homes.  We all must work with our current space and preferences.  Make the most of what you have and enjoy your space.

The end goal is to create living spaces that offer peace and joy.  If we’ve done that, we have successfully decluttered.

Blessings!

Amber

Leave a Reply

