Decluttering: 30 Bags in 30 Days

Last year I decided to do the 30 bags in 30 days decluttering challenge along with many on YouTube.  You may have heard about this challenge.  Sounds a bit excessive at face value but once you begin, you quickly realize how feasible it really is.

The challenge is to donate or trash one bag per day for a month.  It can be any size bag – a ziploc, a Walmart shopping bag, a kitchen trash liner or a large black leaf bag.  Any size.

The idea is movement.  I wasn’t so sure at the beginning of the 30 days if I would wind up getting rid of a bag each day, but, in the end, I actually exceeded the challenge by about ten bags.  Generally I used Walmart shopping bags but occasionally kitchen trash liners.  So, this was fairly significant.

At the end of each day, I placed the donation bag either in my trunk or in the trash can if it was a bag of trash.  Then, at the end of each week, I’d drop off the donations.  The sooner you get the bags out of your house and car, the better you will feel seeing the project through to completion.

This is a great challenge at any time of the year, but particularly the beginning of the year. It sets the tone for the remainder of the year.  I don’t know about you, but I am competitive by nature so I enjoy a good challenge.

Why not consider participating in the 30 bags in 30 days decluttering challenge?  There’s no sign up form.  Just do it.  And think of how accomplished you will feel at the end of the month!

Maybe you can ask a friend or family member if they’d care to join in the fun and do it along with you?

Buddy systems are very helpful.

Let me know if you decide to participate and how you’re doing with the challenge along the way.

Blessings!

Amber

This entry was posted in Organization and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

