Things Beyond Your Control

Did you get to choose your parents?  Your eye color?  Your height?  The size of your feet?  No?  What about the location of your birth?  The year you were born?

And once you were born, what about your socioeconomic lot in life? Later, as an adult and particularly as a parent or spouse, the idea of circumstances unraveling beyond your wishes becomes crystal clear.

We can, however, choose our thoughts, our priorities, our daily routines, our diets, our work out plans, our spouses, our friends, but there are countless situations that require trusting God that He will work all things together for our good and ultimately for His glory.  Have you found this to be true?

I currently have a situation with someone close to me that if I had a magic button to make them do what I would prefer, I would certainly depress it.  My plan, of course, is the best course of action, and theirs is simply not.  They are being selfish and not seeing things through the lens of love.  At least this is my limited scope of vision from where I sit today.  I am frustrated.  I am angry.  I am not getting my way, at least not presently.

The Lord in his gentle kindness whispered to my heart yesterday, “Let it go.  It will all work out. Put it in my hands.”  Yes, God, you are so right.  And that is what I have chosen to do in the end, but not without first having a two year old tantrum because things were not unfolding the way I demanded.

Control.  Yes, I like control.  I would like life to be predictable, safe.  In the full scheme of things, how boring would that be?!  God knows what’s best for His children.

I am reminded once again how very limited our line of sight truly is, how minuscule the fraction of the present we see compared to God’s ultimate plan.

Yes, I’ve seen disappointments, frustrations in life, but I’ve also seen the hand of God patiently weave the fabric of my life together in such a loving way.  In the end, everything will be taken care of.  Life’s situations rarely reach the frantic level of emergency that I sometimes bestow on them.

Learning to trust more and worry less….that is a life goal that I must be reminded of daily.

“Trust in the Lord with all thine heart and lean not on your own understanding.  In all your ways, acknowledge Him and He will direct your paths.”  ~ Proverbs 3:5-6 

This entry was posted in Christian living, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Things Beyond Your Control

Leave a Reply

