So I Got Some News…

It’s the kind of news nothing can prepare one for.  As I lay on the ER gurney recovering from a horrible reaction to pain meds following my hysterectomy, my GYN surgeon pulled up a rolling stool and sat close beside me.  She delivered the pathology news one week ago today that apparently the fibroid tumor they removed, which was inside the uterus, contained a rare, aggressive cancer.

Those are words you simply do not expect to hear at 46 years of age.  From everything I’ve ever read about fibroids – they are almost always benign.  This is the kind of thing that happens to “someone else”, right?  But, in this instance, it was happening to me.

My GYN surgeon said she is referring me to an oncologist GYN at a large cancer hospital in our area because I would now need to have my ovaries (which I was hoping to keep so I wouldn’t embark on presto-insta-menopause) and surrounding lymph nodes removed in another surgery very soon.

As I laid there in pain, the thought of another surgery was not one I’d choose to entertain.  However, if it would save my life, then sign me up!

So far, the pathology report indicates that everything else they removed was unaffected by this cancer and we are very hopeful that great reports will continue to come in.

My GYN said that this type of cancer is super aggressive and spreads rapidly and is almost never caught in time!  Wow.  All I can say is, thank God I elected to have the hysterectomy due to some negative symptoms I was having.

A little background … I went to the ER in January of this year and had a CT scan done, which is when I learned not only would I need my gallbladder out (which happened in February) but also that I had a large fibroid.  I was scheduled to have the hysterectomy in June, however had to assist my father through a health crisis for four months out of state.

It really is a miracle indeed that this cancer was found when it was!!  My GYN said had I waited, I could have been dead in a few months!

God has given me the very best GYN surgeon, who is both professional yet personable.  After delivering the difficult news (her first case of fibroid cancer in her 15 year career!), she gave me the biggest hug.  That was so special of her.

This is all quite surreal at this point.  I’ve only had one week to digest this news.  All I can do is praise Almighty God for saving my life.  I have future grandchildren to meet one day.  I have quilts to make.  I have a lot of living still to share with my husband and children.  I just give God all the honor and glory for the way He has orchestrated events.  It could’ve gone another way and I am keenly aware of that.

One week from today is my initial consultation with the oncologist gynecologist to discuss the game plan.  I am praying that having the surgery will be enough and that no further treatment will be required.  But I do not know.

The Lord laid on my heart the other day as I lay in bed for what felt like Day #99 of my recovery, to write as many bullet points as I could come up with “What I Know About God”.  So far, I’m on #270!  Over the course of several days, I skimmed through the Bible and just drew from what the Word said along with what I already know in my heart to be true.  Instead of focusing on my challenging situation, God was giving me the gift of focusing on His greatness, His majesty and His glory.  He truly is greater and bigger than any situation.  Although our way seems so dark at times, He promises to never leave us and never forsake us.  He is as close as the mere mention of His great Name, my friend.

Leave a Reply

